Štramberk
Štramberk
[ TOWN OFFICE | HISTORY AND SIGHTS | TOURIST INFORMATION]

Homepage    Czech   Deutch   Polski     

Štramberk


Basic Information

Basic Information
A small mountain town in the middle of the Štramberská vrchovina (Highland), stretching across slopes of Zámecký kopec, Kotouč, Bílá hora, Libotínské vrchy and Červený kámen, along the foothills of the Beskydy Mts., called "Moravian Bethlehem" for their picturesqueness. Štramberk was founded by the Moravian margrave Jan Jindřich Lucemburský (1322-1375), son of the Czech King Jan Lucemburský (1296-1346), younger brother of the Roman emperor and Czech king Karel IV (1316-1378), on December 4, 1359 by giving the settlement (first recorded in 1211) surrounding the castle the statute of a town.

The left side of the coat of arms of the town is that of an ancient Czech family, the Benešovice (founded in the 11th century) - a curled silver arrow in a red field, the right side the coat of arms of Moravia - a silver and red chequered eagle in a blue shield.

A dominant feature of both town and environs are the ruins of the Castle Strallenberg with its cylindrical tower called Trúba. Unique in its architecture is a set of Wallahian timbered cottages from the 18th and 19th century, now most of these are under urban conservation. Another famous feature of the town are the so called "Štramberské uši" (Štramberk´s ears), a certain type of ginger snack, shaped like ears. In memory of a legendary victory by the Christians of Štramberk over the Mongolian army on May 8, 1241, the day of the Ascension of Christ.

Copyright 1998-2020 © www.infoSystem.cz, součást prezentačního a rezervačního systému Doménová koule ®
webdesign © 2006 Jaroslav Němec - design.jarnemec.com